Do You Know How To Undo a “Sent” Email in Gmail?

It is possible that sometimes by mistake you send emails to wrong person or sometimes you send the email before making the necessary changes. You may realize this mistake after clicking on the “Send” button. But unfortunately the mail is already sent and there is no option to cancel it. Gmail doesn’t show you any option to cancel or undo the sent mail on the screen by default.  

You need not to worry about it if you follow this tutorial to change a setting in Gmail settings.

In this post I will walk you through a few simple steps to enable the Undo send option in Gmail.

Here we go:
1)     Log into your Gmail account and click the gear icon in the top right corner of your Gmail window and then
2) Select Settings from the drop down menu.



3)     Click on the General Tab and 
4)  Select “Enable Undo Send



 The “send cancellation period” is set to 10 seconds by default. It means that this “Undo” option will be available only for 10 seconds after you click on the Send button. So you have only 10 seconds to click before the Undo button disappears. But you can change that setting up to 30 seconds as shown in the figure. Now this feature allows you to cancel an email up to 30 seconds after pressing "send"

3)     Now Click on Save Changes button at the bottom. It is done!




Next time when you send an email you can see the Undo option alongside of the yellow dialogue that says “Your message has been sent”. Click on the “Undo” option as soon as you realize your mistake after sending the mail.


Remember: The “Undo” option will be available only for few seconds. Once it disappears, the email will be sent. 

I hope this trick helps you. 

0 Comments:

Post a Comment